Functional Health Patterns

  • developed by Marjory Gordon.
  • a method used by nurses in the nursing process to provide a comprehensive nursing assessment of the patient.
  • Taxonomy II of NANDA Nursing Diagnosis classification is based on Gordon's functional health patterns.
  • Gorden's functional health pattern includes 11 categories which is a systematic and standardized approach to data collection.
List of Funcrional Health Patterns
  1. Health Perception – Health Management Pattern
    • describes client’s perceived pattern of health and well being and how health is managed.
  2. Nutritional – Metabolic Pattern
    • describes pattern of food and fluid consumption relative to metabolic need and pattern indicators of local nutrient supply.
  3. Elimination Pattern
    • describes pattern of excretory function (bowel, bladder, and s
  4. Activity – Exercise Pattern
    • describes pattern of exercise, activity, leisure, and recreation.
  5. Cognitive – Perceptual Pattern
    • describes sensory, perceptual, and cognitive pattern
  6. Sleep – Rest Pattern
    • describes patterns of sleep, rest, and relaxation.
  7. Self-perception – Self-concept Pattern
    • -describes self-concept and perceptions of self (body comfory, image, feeling state)
  8. Role – Relationship Pattern
    • describes pattern of role engagements and relationships.
  9. Sexuality – Reproductive Pattern
    • describes client’s pattern of satisfaction and dissatisfaction with sexuality pattern, describes reproductive patterns.
  10. Coping – Stress Tolerance Pattern
    • describes general coping patterns and effectiveness of the pattern in terms of stress tolerance.
  11. Value – Belief Pattern
    • - describes pattern of values and beliefs, including spiritual and /or goals that guide choices or decisions.
  1.  Gordon, M. Nursing Diagnosis: Process and application, Third Edition. St. Louis: Mosby, 1994.


Post a Comment